Google loses appeal against CCI’s “Android Order” in India

Google loses appeal against CCI’s “Android Order” in India – NCLAT upholds the CCI decision on Google’s abuse of dominance but with some caveats on remedies. Google has tasted another setback in India in its fight with the Antitrust regulator, Competition Commission of India (“CCI/Commission”). The appeal filed by Google against the CCI last order […]

Lok Sabha Passes the Competition Amendment Bill, 2022

Lok Sabha , the Lower House of the Indian Parliament on 29.03.2023 passed the much awaited Competition Amendment Bill, 2002 (“the Bill”). The Bill was introduced in the Lok Sabha on 05.08.2022 and was referred to Standing Committee on Finance for examination and report thereon on 17.8.2022. The Standing Committee on Finance (under the chairmanship of Shri Jayant Sinha) […]

Article | Google versus CCI : Whom to blame for the media leak?

So, has Google got it wrong this time? Recently, the Delhi High Court rapped the internet giant for “threatening” to sue the fair market regulator, the Competition Commission of India (CCI), for the “leak” of the confidential investigation report of its investigative arm, the director general, to the media, leading to headline stories in India. […]